It can be served as a main dish or side with coleslaw, plantain, or Jamaican jerk chicken. Well, this is a magical question. Stir everything and let it cook on low heat for t least 10-15 minutes. You can serve it with robustly flavored main dishes, since the coconut milk adds a cooling effect. Stir in the pigeon peas. This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Stir well. Let the rice stand, covered, for 5 minutes to finish steaming. Cover with several inches of water and bring to a rolling boil for about 15 minutes on high heat. Thank you. Despite the name, there are no garden peas in the recipe. Feel free to use any good rice of your choice, but bear in mind that different rice cooks at different times. 1 1/2 cups coconut milk The recipe here is adapted slightly from the recipe by Chef Briana Riddock writing for Food & Wine. Looking for more vegetarian recipes? I am a geologist by the books, an entrepreneur by career and a food blogger/vlogger…Read More. Thyme, scallion, and garlic are three main ingredients that are always present in this dish. This makes me SO happy!! You know that the peas are cooked when you can break the peas in half easily with a fork. I usually soak it in the same pot that I plan on cooking the rice in. I used dry peas (kidney beans), but you can use the canned or frozen peas if you are short of time. I just made this yesterday and it was delicious! Liz is the founder and creator of The Lemon Bowl. It’s an elegant dish that is so easy to put together. Classic jamaican rice and peas is rice and kidney beans simmered with coconut milk, green onion, fresh thyme and spices. Comments. If you make this Delicious Jamaican Rice and Peas recipe, I’d love to see pictures of your creations on Instagram or Facebook. While you are cooking your peas, adding spices, and coconut milk, I leave it uncovered. ","position":3,"name":"Once the peas are properly soaked (they will...","url":"https:\/\/brooklynactivemama.com\/delicious-authentic-jamaican-rice-and-peas-r